Skip to content

The Last Ounce of DIRT Season- Weekend Recap. Thomas Tames Swaisnboro, Perrego Stuns at Accord

News and notes from what turns out to be the last semi meaningful weekend left in dirt racing for 2013. The clay and the boiled peanuts were flying at Swainsboro Raceway for the Turkey 100 unsanctioned crate spectacular. And lo and behold there was still big block modified racing going on as superstar promoter Brett Deyo held a very successful Gobbler at Accord Speedway.

Thomas Tames Swainsboro.

William Thomas captured his 2nd Turkey 100 in three seasons Saturday night, taking home $20,000. Thomas fended off last week’s Ne Smith event winner Ray Cook and young hot shoe Chip Brindle in the win. Cook’s 2nd place showing is perhaps his last in a GRT race car as he has signed on to become the MastersBuilt house car pilot in 2014. Over 60 entries participated in the two day show at Swainsboro Raceway (GA) which also featured heavyweights, Ivedent Lloyd Jr, Chris Ferguson, and Dennis Franklin. Locally, Ryan Montgomery bagged another good finish taking home 7th.

Top 10
1. William Thomas
2. Ray Cook
3. Chip Brindle
4. Ivedent Lloyd Jr
5. Michael Brown
6. Ben Faircloth
7. Ryan Montgomery
8. Brandon Overton
9. Chris Ferguson
10. Jason Fitzgerald

Perrego Stuns at Accord

Anthony Perrego scored the biggest win of his modified career at Accord Speedway Saturday, beating out a tough field which included the likes of Stewart Friesen, Tim McCreadie, Chad Brachmann, Andy Bachetti (also tough with his fists), and Bobby Varin, and Pat Ward. Perrego raked in $7732 for the win in the 50 lap feature which drew an amazing 42 cars. Folks, if anyone predicted an event so late in November could have that many cars and quality ones nonetheless, they’d have been called insane and strapped with a white jacket for their trouble. Great job Mr. Deyo.

Top 10
1. Anthony Perrego
2. Stewart Friesen
3. Bobby Varin
4. Mike Maheny
5. Andy Bachetti
6.  Nick Rochinski
7. Danny Tyler
8. Jackie Brown Jr
9. Danny Creeden
10. Elmo Reckner

Other News/Notes:

Mr. Smooth aka Billy Moyer and Victory Circle have had a divorce it seems. Moyer will join Bobby Labonte Racing’s Longhorn Chassis program in 2014. Veteran Jesse Stovall will possibly take the spot vacated by Moyer with Victory Circle. 

3 time Super Dirtcar Series champion Matt Sheppard will join forces with Heinke/Tommy Baldwin Racing in 2014, leaving the Brownell/Xtreme Lubricants ride up in the air. More details will be released in the coming weeks. Sheppard joins front runner Jimmy Phleps and promising newcomer Erik Rudolph at HBR racing.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: