Skip to content

The Story From Lernerville: Flick Bests Sprints; Norris and Williamson Cruise to Victory; Dietz Amazes In Opening Night Win

John Stivason Photo

With ominous looking clouds and rain surrounding the speedway , the racing forged ahead at Lernerville Speedway on Friday night and when the final checkered flag fell for that evening, it capped a night of intense battles played out on a surface that was a racy as one could ask for.

In the Peoples Gas DIRTcar Sprints, a familiar name brought the field to green as current All Star Circuit of Champions tour regular John Garvin started on the pole in the 25 lap main event. He assumed the early lead but was overtaken by a strong running George Hobaugh while AJ Flick, Sye Lynch and Jack Sodeman began to make their moves towards the front. Lynch’s progress was halted when he spun in turn four, re-stacking the field. When action resumed, Flick moved high and made his way around Garvin and then Hobaugh while pulling away to a healthy advantage in taking his first win of the 2018 campaign.

John Stivason Photo

The dominance of the Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Models by defending champion Michael Norris was once again evident on Friday night as he put a hard charging Kenny Schaltenbrand behind him in quick fashion and raced out to the early lead. Mike Pegher Jr. found himself in the thick of the battle in the front as did Tony Musolino who looked impressive while running down the field to battle with Pegher and Norris during restarts in the second half of the race. However, nobody had anything for Norris on this night at he cruised to victory and made it look easy.

John Stivason Photo

Mat Williamson paid a visit in the Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds and though he no longer plans on racing for another track title in 2018, he showed the field on hand the same skill, smoothness and determination that has made his Lernerville career so successful. Williamson started on the pole and never looked back as he wired the field while behind him, Rex King Jr., Dave Murdick, John Mollick and Jeremiah Shingledecker mad their way to the front, but could not find a way to seriously challenge Williamson for the win.

John Stivason Photo

In the Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTCar/RUSH Pro Stocks, Noah Brunell drove the most determined race of his young career, leading the majority of the laps while playing a stout defensive game in fending off defending champion Corey McPherson. Brunell would manage to keep not only McPherson at bay, but also managed to hold his own in a thrilling three car battle between himself, McPherson and Tyler Dietz. However, in the end the effort would not be enough as Tyler Dietz weaved his way though the field from 18th starting position in an astounding feature victory that saw him emerge from a late race restart with the lead and leave no doubt the rest of the way.

Next Friday night, Tony Stewart’s Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions invades The Action track where they will be joined by the Allegheny Sprint tour 305 Sprints and also, the RUSH Wingless Sprint Cars will be making their Lernerville debut!

Peoples Natural DIRTcar 410 Sprint Feature: (25 Laps)

1. (2) AJ Flick
2. (40) George Hobaugh
3. (51) John Garvin
4. (23J) Jack Sodeman
5. (2L) Sye Lynch
6. (76) Davey Jones
7. (08) Dan Kuriger
8. (29) Scott Barris
9. (23) Darren Pifer
10. (4N) Jimmy Morris
11. (1R) Gale Ruth
12. (91) Sadie Siegel
13. (44) Joe McEwan
14. (C1) Clay Riney –Did Not Start
15. (24) Jeremy Hill- Did Not Start

Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Models Feature: (25 Laps)

1. (72) Michael Norris
2. (1C) Mike Pegher Jr.
3. (36) Tony Musolino
4. (10L) Gary Lyle
5. (29) Ken Schaltenbrand
6. (73) Devin Lewis
7. (7) Jake Gunn
8. (9) Clayton Kennedy
9. (11) Joshua Powell
10. (91) Weston Phillis
11. (81) Mike Miller
12. (14R) Clay Ruffo

Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Big Block Modified Feature: (25 Laps)

1. (6M) Mat Williamson
2. (165) Rex King
3. (61) Dave Murdick
4. (37md) Jeremiah Shingledecker
5. (4J) John Mollick
6. (29) Garrett Krummert
7. (83) Brian Swartzlander
8. (13) Rick Regalski
9. (65) Rex King
10. (25) Chris Rudolph
11. (88) Shawn Fleeger
12. (29s) Steve Slater
13. (83T) Tom Glenn
14. (3K) Shawn Kozar
15. (132) Brandon Michaud
16. (12W) Travis Walsh

Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar/RUSH Pro Stocks Feature: (20 Laps)

1. (27) Tyler Dietz
2. (c33) Corey McPherson
3. (31) Noah Brunell
4. (25) Brett McDonald
5. (948) Joey Zambotti
6. (66) Joe Kelley
7. (10) John Hartman
8. (30) Bob Egley
9. (29B) Scott Byers
10. (22J) Chase Lambert
11. (77) Heath Close
12. (28Y) Terry Young
13. (26) Mike Bordt
14. (13X) Ryan Moyer
15. (35B) Jacob Dietz
16. (17) Sam Eichelberger
17. (12M) Trevor McCann
18. (310) Dale Tuche

Peoples Natural DIRTcar 410 Sprint Heat 1:

1. (51) John Garvin Jr.
2. (2L) Sye Lynch
3. (2) AJ Flick
4. (08) Dan Kuriger
5. (23) Darren PIfer
6. (4N) Jimmy Morris
7. (91) Sadie Siegel

Peoples Gas DIRTcar 410 Sprint Heat 2:

1. 40) George Hobaugh
2. (29) Scott Barris
3. (23J) Jack Sodeman Jr.
4. (76) Davey Jones
5. (44) Joe McEwen
6. (1R) Gale Ruth
7. (C1) Clay Riney- Did Not Start
8. (24) Jeremy Hill- Did Not Start

Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Model Heat 1:

1. (36) Tony Musolino
2. (10L) Gary Lyle
3. (9) Clayton Kennedy
4. (73) Devin Lewis
5. (91) Weston Phillis
6. (11) Joshua Powell

Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Model Heat 2:

1. (72) Michael Norris
2. (1C) Mike Pegher
3. (7) Jake Gunn
4. (81) Mike Miller
5. (29) Ken Schaltenbrand
6. (14R) Clay Ruffo

Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Big Block Modified Heat 1:

1. (61) Dave Murdick
2. (6M) Mat Williamson
3. (4J) John Mollick
4. (165) Rex King Jr.
5. (83T) Tom Glenn
6. (37Md) Jeremiah Shingledecker
7. (132) Brandon Michaud
8. (13) Rick Regalski

Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Big Block Modified Heat 2:

1. (83) Brian Swartzlander
2. (29) Garrett Krummert
3. (65) Rex King
4. (25) Chris Rudolph
5. (88) Shawn Fleeger
6. (3K) Shawn Kozar
7. (29s) Steve Slater
8. (12W) Travis Walsh

Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar/RUSH Pro Stocks Heat 1:

1. (c33) Corey McPherson
2. (10) John Hartman
3. (30) Bob Egley
4. (66) Joe Kelley
5. (17) Sam Eichelberger
6. (29B) Scott Byers
7. (28Y) Terry Young
8. (77) Heath Close
9. (27) Tyler Dietz- Did Not Start

Millerstown Pic-A-Part RUSH/DIRTcar Pro Stocks Heat 2:

1. (31) Noah Brunell
2. (26) Mike Bordt
3. (25) Brett McDonald
4. (948) Joey Zambotti
5. (22J) Chase Lambert
6. (13X) Ryan Moyer
7. (35B) Jacob Dietz
8. (310) Dale Tuche
9. (12M) Trevor McCann

Car Count Total: 61
Peoples Natural Gas Sprints: 15
Precise Late Models: 12
Diehl Modifieds: 16
Pic-A-Part Pro Stocks: 18



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: