Skip to content

The Story from Bedford – Satterlee takes first win of season in Grum/Burkett Tribute

Satterlee Bedford Action
Jason Walls Photo


BEDFORD, Pa. – Gregg Satterlee of Indiana, Pa., picked up his first win of the season this past Friday night at the Bedford Speedway in the Johnny Grum/Turk Burkett Tribute event at the big fairgrounds oval.  The win did not come easy for Satterlee though who would lead all 35 laps of the event, but had to hold off late race challenges from 12th starting Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa. to pick up the victory.

The event would be the first Friday night event with good weather for Bedford all season long and they were rewarded with a really good crowd.  25 Late Models showed up for the $3,000-to-win, 35-lap event, and no time trials would be run.  Heat races were lined up by luck of the draw and the top three drivers from each heat race would redraw for the first nine starting positions in the feature event.

Heat one went to Mason Zeigler of Chalk Hill, Pa., over Matt Cosner, Jeff Rine, Michael Norris and Chuck Clise.  Heat two was won by Satterlee over Andy Haus, Dan Angelicchio, Dylan Yoder and Covert.  Heat three went to Darryl Hills over Matt Sponaugle, Tyler Bare, Nathan Lasalle and Tom Decker III.

No consolation event was held as all 25 drivers would be placed into the starting field for the tribute event.

Jeff Rine of Danville, Pa., would draw the pole for the feature event, but Satterlee from the outside pole would get the early jump and would start to pull away from the field.  As the event wore on Covert was working his way up from his 12th starting position picking off drivers at a torrid pace on his march to the front of the field.

Satterlee VL Bedford

The first yellow of the event came out on lap 8 for Sponaugle who slowed to a stop with a flat right rear tire.  This would be the first of many flat right rears throughout the feature.  On lap 26, Angelicchio also suffered a flat and would have to go to the rear.  Over the final nine laps of the event Covert would work on getting past Satterlee but could not pull off the pass.  On the final lap, Covert gave a last ditch effort with a slider attempt in turn three, but he could not clear Satterlee who would drive off for the victory.


  1. Gregg Satterlee,  2. Jason Covert,  3. Jeff Rine,  4. Andy Haus,  5. Matt Cosner,  6. Alex Ferree,  7. Bryan Bernheisel,  8. Darryl Hills,  9. Matt Sponaugle,  10. Dan Angelicchio,  11. Chuck Clise,  12. Dylan Yoder,  13. Tyler Bare,  14. Ross Robinson,  15. Dan Stone,  16. Ralph Morgan Jr.,  17. Tom Decker III, 18. Wayne Johnson,  19. Andy Fries,  20. Jeff Johnson,  21. D.J. Troutman,  22. Nathan Lasalle,  23. Mason Zeigler,  24. Michael Norris,  25. Travis Stickley


Car Count – 25

Heat Winners – Zeigler, Satterlee, Hills



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: