Skip to content

Miley storms from 20th to win at Clinton County

Patrick Miller Photo

Mill Hall, Pa. – Jared Miley of Pittsburgh, Pa, rallied from his 20th starting position to pick up the victory in the first-ever Ultimate Northeast Super Late Model Series event at Clinton County Motor Speedway. The victory was worth $3,000 for Miley who passed Matt Cosner of Ridgeley, W.Va., coming to the white flag to pick up the victory. The picturesque Clinton County oval made for a great new track for the series and the feature did not dissapoint.

The night started off with Bryce Davis of Ackport, N.Y., setting fast time in the night’s time trials with a lap of 13.732 seconds. Heat one was won by Davis who was followed across the line by Cosner, Shaun Jones, Bryan Bernheisel, Mike Smith, Devin Frey, Dave Stamm and Nathan Long. Heat two went to Limited Late Model runner Andrew Yoder over Coleby Frye, Kirk Baker, Devin Hart, Joe Petyak, Ken Schaffer and Jared Miley who suffered a flat tire while leading the heat which would relegate him to the back of the field to start the feature and setup his incredible drive to the front. The third heat was won by Dylan Yoder over father Jim Yoder, Mike Lupfer, Kevin Probst, Matt Cochran, Dave Brouse Jr. and Luke Hoffner.

The top two finishers from each heat race redrew for starting positions at the front of the feature and Frye drew the pole and would jump out to an early lead, but that lead would not last long as third-starting Cosner got back Frye to lead lap two and would set the pace for much of the event. Cosner would fend off a few challenges throughout the event from aboth Dylan Yoder and JIm Yoder while Miley was working his way to the front of the field. As the feature was winding down with eight laps to go a caution flew that saw Dylan Yoder wreck Miley going into turn one after contact was made in turn four between the two. Miley never stopped and was given his spot back due to being taken out by Yoder.

Miley then worked his way past the final couple of cars getting by Cosner coming to the white flag. On the white flag lap a caution flew for Dave Brouse Jr. who was stopped at the top of turns one and two. Miley held off challenges from Jim Yoder over the final two laps during the green, white, checkered finish.

Feature finish

  1. Jared Miley
  2. Jim Yoder
  3. Dylan Yoder
  4. Matt Cosner
  5. Coleby Frye
  6. Devin Hart
  7. Shaun Jones
  8. Bryce Davis
  9. Kirk Baker
  10. Andrew Yoder
  11. Dave Stamm
  12. Matt Cochran
  13. Dave Brouse Jr.
  14. Kevin Probst
  15. Mike Lupfer
  16. Mike Smith
  17. Bryan Bernheisel
  18. Joe Petyak
  19. Devin Frey
  20. Nathan Long
  21. Ken Schaffer
  22. Luke Hoffner



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: